Tags

,

Congratulations to Gianlorenzo Bernini, the Baroque sculptor who overcame a No. 4 seed to win the inaugural M(art)ch Madness. Bernini beat No. 2 seed Caravaggio in the final, a matchup of two Baroque artists who knocked off higher seeded Michelangelo and Leonardo in the Final Four. Bernini, who survived a regional with Picasso, Cezanne and Raphael, was one of the few sculptors in the field of 64, making his win all the more surprising. Here is the final bracket. I was pleased that this project got as much traction as it did. I was worried I might have to cast all the votes myself,  so I was gratified that as many as 90 people cast votes in some rounds. No knowing what to expect, it was also interesting to see how fans of certain periods ahem Baroque ahem mobilized to vote as a bloc. More power to them. It certainly paid off for Bernini. An all-20th century bracket was the overwhelming preference for next year’s tournament, so I’m hoping some of the Renaissance and Baroque scholars will stick around. Many thanks to everyone who participated. We’ll close with the amazing Baldacchino in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome, designed by Bernini: San_pietro,_baldacchino

